Meet the SDP Board of Directors


Patricia McKenzie - non-Executive Director and Chair

Patricia is a highly experienced director of major energy and infrastructure companies, regulated and unregulated, in both private and government sectors, and in ehealth, chronic disease and disability service companies. Patricia has over 40 years involvement in the energy sector, particularly in businesses with complex operations, significant infrastructure and major strategic and regulatory challenges.  She participated in the design of the major market developments in gas and electricity over that period, administered as CEO the introduction of retail gas competition in NSW and ACT, and as a director and chair, has overseen the transformation of market entities in response to technological and regulatory change.  


Patricia is currently a director of AGL Energy Limited, one of Australia’s leading integrated energy companies, Chair of NSW Ports, owner of Port Botany and Port Kembla in NSW, and a director of The Housing Connection providing services to people with disabilities.   She was previously a director of the APA Group; Chair of Essential Energy, Healthdirect Australia Limited, Diabetes Australia and Sunnyfield; and a director of the Australian Energy Market Operator, Transgrid, and Macquarie Generation.  Patricia was CEO of Gas Market Company, the first self-regulated competitive energy market administrator in Australia, responsible for delivering the technology systems and business rules which introduced retail gas competition to NSW and the ACT.


Patricia holds a Bachelor of Law from the University of Sydney and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. 

Patricia was appointed Chair of SDP on 1 July 2020 link to press release 



Daniel Rossetti - non-Executive Director

Daniel Rossetti was appointed Director of the Sydney Desalination Plant Board in September 2017.


Daniel Rossetti is a member of the North American and Asia-Pacific team. Daniel joined OTPP in 2009 and most recently worked on the acquisition of the Chicago Skyway toll road. Prior to Ontario Teachers', he worked in investment banking in the mining sector.


Daniel is a CFA Charterholder and earned a BA (Honours, Political Studies) from Queen's University and an MBA from the Wilfrid Laurier University School of Business.


Colin Nicholson - non-Executive Director

Colin Nicholson was appointed Director of the Sydney Desalination Plant Board in December 2014.


Colin has had a wide and varied career within the water industry for over 40 years with extensive experience in design, construction, project and contract management, operations and change management. He has broad experience in public private partnerships including build own operate contracts, alliances and other forms of commercial out-sourcing. Colin also has specialist expertise in the area of drinking water quality and water treatment and has been an active contributor to the development of the Australian Drinking Water Guidelines


Colin retired from Sydney Water in early 2013 after holding the senior executive roles of General Manager Operations and General Manager Reform.


Colin holds a Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) from Sydney University and a Master of Engineering Science (Public Health) from the University of NSW.

Mark Mudie - non-Executive Director

Mark is a senior investment professional in the Australian infrastructure market, performing lead roles in the origination, execution and management of infrastructure assets and businesses. Since joining Morrison & Co in Sydney in 2012, Mark has completed investments in the renewable, student accommodation and PPP sectors, for which he retains ongoing investment management roles. Mark’s current directorships include the 420MW Macarthur Wind Farm, the New Royal Adelaide Hospital and South East Queensland Schools 1 PPP projects, as well as a Director on the SDP Board.


Michael Faulkner - non-Executive Director

Michael has 12 years’ experience as a private equity and advisory professional within the infrastructure sector. Michael is a member of Morrison & Co’s investment team with responsibility for both long-term asset management and origination, with experience across the transportation, regulated utility, energy retailing and renewable energy sectors. He is currently a Board Director of Perth Energy, Macarthur Wind Farm and Electranet.

He was previously with KPMG’s infrastructure advisory team, Macquarie Capital’s principal renewable energy investment team and worked as a thermal coal analyst at Wood Mackenzie. Michael holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Sydney, is a Chartered Accountant and a Charterholder of the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute.



Dr Warren Mundy - non-Executive Director

Dr Warren Mundy was appointed Director of the Sydney Desalination Plant Board in February 2014.


Dr Mundy has over a decade of experience in the infrastructure sector covering management, planning and development, economic and environmental regulation and commercial negotiation of access agreements. For a number of years he was the principal regulatory and economic adviser to the Australian Council for Infrastructure Development. He has held senior executive roles in the airports industry in both Australia and Europe and has worked for McKinsey and Company, the Reserve Bank and the WA Treasury Corporation.  Dr Mundy became the Commissioner responsible for the Australian Competitive Neutrality Complaints Office in November 2014 and is also currently the Presiding Commissioner on the Inquiry into Business Set-up, Transfer and Closure.


Dr Mundy is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society of London and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is also an Adjunct Professor in the School of Aviation at the University of New South Wales and a member of the University's Aviation Industry Advisory Committee.


In November 2013, he ended a five and a half year term on the Board of Airservices Australia, serving four and a half years as Deputy Chair. He was a member of the Joint NSW-Commonwealth Government Steering Group overseeing the development of the Aviation Strategic Plan for Sydney and has been a Director of Vicforests, the Airport Operators Association of the United Kingdom and James Watt College of Higher and Further Education in Scotland. Dr Mundy is a Director of Transgrid, the Western Community Legal Service Pty Ltd and Bluestone Consulting Pty Ltd.


Dr Mundy’s PhD is in economics from Kings College Cambridge. He has undergraduate qualifications in statistics, a Master of Environmental Law from the Australian National University and post graduate qualifications in corporate finance and corporate governance. Dr Mundy is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.